Haus of Gloi Haul & Review – Bath & Body Products

I’ve never been so psyched about an order before and it’s mostly Haus of Gloi is one of my favorite indie companies, like, ever. I have to admit that I’m a little biased; I have this sentimental loyalty to them because they were the first indie bath and beauty company that I made a direct order from and I must say, they’ve set the bar pretty high. This is my second order from them and it’s a mini, modest little combination of Spring and Summer items. I have to admit, I planned for this order to be a lot larger, but like a half-wit, I hit the snooze button on my alarm clock and didn’t manage to wake up at my local time of 3am to cash in on the launch. When I did get up at 4am (1 hour into their summer launch), there were only a handful of products left. I guess most of the world adores HoG as much as I do!

Here’s what I managed to get my paws on:

  • Whipped Soap in Ploughman
  • Sugar Exfoliant (2oz) in Ploughman
  • Bubbling Scrub (2oz) in Milkmaid
  • Pumpkin Butter (2oz) in Komodo
  • Body Emulsion (2oz) in Madcap Garden
  • Refresher in Strawberry Rose
  • Lip Balm in Oregon Blueberries

And my freebie: 

  • A darling little sample vial of Cozy Sweater

I decided to snag Haus of Gloi’s bath and body products this round since my first order was comprised fully of their perfume oils. This post will mainly focus on a brief, first impressions review of each product. I hate to insert a spoiler, but I pretty much adored everything. I’m a believer, and even as I’m typing this, an evil little part of my mind is already plotting a next (way bigger) order.


A quick brand overview

Haus of Gloi is an indie bath and beauty company that is immensely adored for their wide range of high quality, vegan and cruelty-free products and extremely efficient turnaround time. This stunning labor of love, owned and operated by Matt and Britton, was first established on Etsy back in 2007 and since then, the company has really taken flight. Their products range from the extremely popular pumpkin body butters to their utterly gorgeous whipped body soaps and everything is available in any of the gorgeous scents from their scent list.

I know I probably sound a little biased, and it’s a little hard to believe it, but in my eyes, this company can do no wrong. I have pretty much loved practically everything that I ever purchased from them. The packaging is classy and minimalist, the products are of such high quality and are so reasonably priced, the turnaround time is unbelievable and the customer service is excellent. What’s not to love?

Summer Refresher

in Strawberry + Rose – Fresh strawberries and roses. Contains true strawberry essence water and Bulgarian rose water.

Ingredients: Distilled water, hydrosol and or essence waters, proprietary fragrance blend, vegetable glycerine

I had to talk about this product first because it was probably the one thing that I was the most excited, yet skeptical about. This is a completely new product released by Haus of Gloi for their Summer 2014 collection and it’s basically an oil and water based body and linen spray that contains no preservatives or alcohol. If you look at the ingredients, it’s pretty much as natural as a body spray can possibly get. Still, I had no idea how an oil and water body spray would be like, and I know many people were a little doubtful since oil and water have never really been known to play well together. Still, if anyone can pull this off, it has to be Haus of Gloi so I went ahead and popped one into my order.

The picture of the left is basically how the product looked like when it first arrived. As expected, the oil separates from the water, but the ombre effect is surprisingly pretty and actually adds a really unique appearance to this product. To use it, you just need to give the bottle a good shake and voila! The oil and water play nice for a while and you’re all ready to spritz it over your summer-tortured body or any other surface that you want to scent up. I was pretty lucky that I managed to snag a bottle in this scent. At the time of ordering, this was one of the last 3 scents available and in a nice little case of serendipity, strawberry and rose are two of my favorite scent notes.

So anyhow, I shook mine like a polaroid picture and proceeded to spritz it over myself. And it. is. Gorgeous. Gorgeous. Practically every commercial body spray that I’ve ever used in my life has alcohol in it and I detest that clinical sharpness that ensues from the moment it escapes out the nozzle. Not to mention that my overly sensitive skin does not react well to alcohol. This little beauty, on the other hand, feels so good on my skin. I feel like spritzing myself from head to toe because it feels thirst-quenching on a hot, sweaty day. And have I even mentioned how divine the scent is? This smells like the juiciest strawberries fresh from the fields accompanied by rose flavored candies that are sweet, yet not cloying. I’ve never smelt a fresher rose scent than this, and frankly, I’ve found myself wanting to scent my skin with this more than some of my beloved perfume oils, and fragrance skunk that I am, this is very high praise.

This little wonder now has a permanent place in my bag and I bring it everywhere. Once in a while, for a little treat, I spritz it on my pillow and spend the entire night dreaming of rolling around in strawberry fields while a handsome lad sprinkles fresh pink rose petals on me. I can’t really bear to use it on linen though, because it just feels so lovely on my skin. Thankfully, due to the lack of preservatives in this, we’re encouraged to use it up within 6 months. I’ve been taking this as license to spray liberally. I don’t really know how I’m going to survive the next 6 months before the Summer Release 2015, so I’m hoping that this product makes a reappearance a little sooner than that.

Refreshers cost $12 for a 4oz bottle. They were introduced as a new product during the 2014 Summer Release.

Whipped Body Soap

in PloughmanWell worn leather, dirt n’ dandelions, carrot, a pinch of tobacco and a light sheen of feral skin musk. 

Ingredients: Vegetable glycerin, sodium coco sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, propylene glycol, sorbitol, stearic acid, proprietary fragrance blend, shea butter, phenoxyethanol (and) caprylyl glycol, citric acid.

This is actually my first foray into the world of whipped soaps and I have to say this – I am a total convert. But before I talk about the joys of bathing yourself in what feels like whipped cream, I need to first talk about the gorgeousness that is Ploughman and how much of an idiot I am to have allowed this perfume to pass me by. When I first discovered indie perfume oils, the first thing I wanted to look for was a blend based on a scent memory I had. I wanted to smell like soil in the aftermath of a thunderstorm. This doesn’t sound as good in writing, but there’s just this air of nostalgia and deja vu which follows the rain and I wanted a smell that could capture that. This is everything I had hoped for and more. The dirt note is the first thing I get, but there’s something sweet and wistful about it as well, and it must be the dandelions. I know that this is dirt we’re talking about, but paradoxically, it smells so fresh — like the earth after the rain. I’m in total love and am now plotting to stock up on so many bottles of this in Spring 2015.

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, let’s now talk about the lush, creamy texture of this whipped soap.  It starts out feeling all squishy and foamy and I get a childish glee out of coaxing it out of the jar with my fingers. Still, even that can’t live up to the moment when it magically melts into a milky and foamy lather once in touch with water. There’s just this creaminess that you get while spreading it all over your body and I feel like I’m really pampering myself. It doubles up as a really great shaving soap as well. My legs have never felt smoother and my skin feels so soft. I definitely need to pick up more of these when they return during the cooler months.

Whipped Soaps cost $7 for a 6oz jar. They are only available during seasonal releases during the cooler months.

Sugar Exfoliant

in Ploughman – Well worn leather, dirt n’ dandelions, carrot, a pinch of tobacco and a light sheen of feral skin musk. 

Ingredients: Organic cane sugar, sucrose, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter) fruit, cocos nucifera (coconut) olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, emulsifying wax NF, oryza sativa (rice) bran oil, cetyl alcohol NF, fragrance, phenoxyethanol (and) caprylyl glycol, activated charcoal, alkanna tinctoria (alkanet) root powder.

I actually ended up picking up another product in Ploughman as another of my last minute spring purchases. This was slightly discounted since the Haus was clearing their spring stock out to make way for the summer goodies. I had really high hopes for the sugar exfoliant (or the emulsifying scrub as it’s also referred to on the website) and although this was slightly different from what I expected, I did end up really liking the product. Before I actually talk about the scrub, I have a little grumble about the little security seals that Haus of Gloi puts on their products. I really appreciate them since it prevents spillage and keeps the product fresh, but blimey, are they a pill to remove. Despite my best efforts, the bathroom isn’t the best place for intricate seal removal so I ended up with some gluey sediments around the jar. I’ve since removed them, but it kinda bugged me out a little.

On a much brighter note, the scrub smelled divine even though it looks slightly murky in the jar. To be honest, the texture is pretty different from what is advertised on the site. I’m not sure if it melted on the way or something, but the contents tend to separate, so I’ve had to stir the contents with a little ice cream stick before using it.  It does get a little goopy; I got all butter fingers in my excitement and spilled some on the floor, to my dismay. I hate ants, so I get all paranoid when dealing with sugar scrubs. Not to mention that wasting any bit of a Ploughman product is absolute sacrilege.

I actually sent a facebook message to Britton about this because I realized that the consistency of my scrub was decidedly different from how it was supposed to be. The ingredients kept separating and it was a lot more liquidy rather than balm-like. She sent the sweetest reply within the same day:

I’m really sorry to hear about your scrub. Sometimes the heat can cause separation and the high amount of shea butter can prevent it from setting up correctly at room temp. What you can do is pop it in the fridge for a while and stir it up as it sets up and gets resolidified. I hope that makes sense! Please let me know if you have any questions. I am glad to hear you’re enjoying the refreshers, they’re getting restocked this Sunday!

Isn’t she the sweetest? And that’s amidst all that’s been happening too. I can’t imagine how busy they are, but it’s wonderful that they take the time to provide excellent customer service. I did as she suggested, but my scrub continued to separate. I’m not going to review this because I don’t think I can do justice to how the product is actually supposed to be, but for what it’s worth, it still does make a really good scrub. I think I might go with the Bubbling Scrub from now on though, since that one seemed to have survived the trip better.

Sugar Exfoliants in the General Collection cost $4 for a 2oz jar and $10 for a 7.5oz jar. Seasonal Sugar Exfoliants cost $4.50 for a 2oz jar and $10 for a 7.5oz jar.

Bubbling Sugar Scrub

in Milkmaid – Flushed, but demure. Fresh milk, clean linens, pale musk and pink sweet pea blossom.

Ingredients: Organic cane sugar, sucrose (sugar), vegetable glycerin, sodium coco sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, propylene glycol, sorbitol, stearic acid, proprietary fragrance blend, shea butter, phenoxyethanol (and) caprylyl glycol, citric acid, alkanna tinctoria (alkanet) root powder.

Before I talk about the scrub, I need a fan girl moment to squeal over how much I adore this scent. It’s like everything I ever wanted in a floral perfume. I’m going to hunt down sweet pea perfumes like a hawk now, because of this beautiful blend. It’s the cleanest, freshest and sweetest floral and I feel all pure wearing this on my skin. The milk note isn’t prominent in the scrub and it just adds a nice subtle creamy undertone. I spend a lot more time in the bathroom when I use this scrub because I want to just bask in the olfactory perfection that is Milkmaid forever, prune skin be damned.

The actual product actually lives up to the hype of the scent, which is pretty impressive! The texture is pretty similar to the whipped soap, only that there’s sugar in this and it feels like I’m digging my paws into the most heavenly smelling pot of whipped cream.  It’s almost a decadent feeling, and I relish every second of it. I apply this on wet skin and the moment the scrub comes into contact with water, it practically melts onto my skin. This is a pretty gentle scrub, but it gets the job done. It creates a tiny bit of milky lather before seemingly immersing completely into my pores. I feel unfit for company after using this product. I alternate between touching myself and marveling over how smooth and soft my skin feels, and sniffing my skin like a hunting dog because Milkmaid smells so gorgeous. I do recommend using a moisturizer after this, but honesty, if you’re in the laziest of moods, you could probably get away with skipping the moisturizer every once in a while. This is a scrub that actually moisturizes even as it exfoliates. I’m so in love.

Bubbling Scrubs in the General Collection cost $3.50 for a 2oz jar and $8 for a 6oz jar. Seasonal Bubbling Scrubs cost $4 for a 2oz jar and $9 for a 6oz jar.

Body Emulsion

in Madcap Garden

Ingredients: Distilled water, caprylic/capric triglyceride (fractionated coconut oil), theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, emulsifying wax NF, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) oil, cannabis sativa (hemp) seed oil, cetyl alcohol, cyclomethicone, dimethicone, proprietary fragrance blend, phenoxyethanol (and) caprylyl glycol, vitamin e., vegetable glycerin, hydrolyzed cucurbita pepo (pumpkin) seed extract, modified corn starch, xanthan gum.

I constantly struggle with my climate. I come this tropical, irritating little island where the humidity levels shoot through the roof so most commercial lotions and body butters have made me feel like some sort of a snail. My skin gets incredibly dry though, especially after shaving, so I knew I had to go on a hunt for the perfect moisturizer. This little baby comes pretty darn close. I was a little biased towards the Body Emulsion since I thought the butter might be too rich for me, which is why I opted to get it in Madcap Garden. This is hands-down one of my holy grail scents. The first note that emerges is a sparkling peppermint that is quickly followed by a strong black tea note. The sharpness of the mint and the tartness of the tea is sweetly mellowed by a layer of lush, sexy honey that supports the scent, rather than take the spotlight. This blend strikes a stunning balance between sweet, sexy and soothing and I adore it. The scent of the body butter is pretty much the same as the perfume oil version, although it doesn’t last as long. When you layer both prodicts together though, hoo boy. I just want to fly up into the heavens and giggle down upon creation. It smells that good.

In addition to smelling stunning, this body emulsion is possibly the most perfect lotion that I’ve applied on my thirsty skin. I’ve always favored lotions to body butters because of Singapore’s cursed humidity, but until now, the commercial lotions I’ve tried were all mostly thin, watery and didn’t really feel like they were moisturizing my skin. This lotion is a lot creamier, but it glides onto my skin with such a lightness. It feels as though my pores are gratefully drinking up all the sweet smelling goodness. It absorbs really quickly and just leaves a slight sheen even on the most humid day. I love using this as a day moisturizer and I’d recommend it to anyone looking for an effective body lotion that is light, yet still has the ability to make your skin feel loved. Definitely full jar worthy!

Body Emulsions in the General Collection cost $3.50 for a 2oz jar and $10 for an 8oz jar.

Pumpkin Body Butter

in Komodo – Mangosteen, Tahitian vanilla bean, dragons blood resin and faded tropical blooms.

Ingredients: Water, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, cucurbita pepo (pumpkin) seed oil, caprylic/capric triglyceride, glyceryl stearate, PEG 100 stearate, glycerin, cyclopentasiloxane, behenyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol, dimethicone, proprietary fragrance blend, phenoxyethanol (and) caprylyl glycol (paraben and formaldehyde free preservative), hydrolyzed cucurbita pepo (pumpkin) seed extract, tocopherol, tetrasodium EDTA, xanthan gum, citric acid.

I picked this scent choice on a whim, and I still don’t really know why I decided to go with Komodo instead of the more popular choices like The Brier Patch or Driftwood. I think I was hoping for an exotic, tropical fruity kind of a summer scent. Unfortunately, I didn’t really like this scent as much as I thought I would. I think I might have liked it better in the perfume oil, but in the pumpkin butter, the scent is incredibly faint. So far, all of the other body products are pretty strongly scented, which was why I took a double take when I sniffed the jar. There is the faintest whiff of a slightly musky resin note, but other than that, it almost feels unscented. I do get some of the florals as the scent warms up on my skin, otherwise, this is the faintest of the scented body products.

Aside from the scent though, I ADORE this. It is no wonder that so many people consider this to be their holy grail body butter. The texture is lush, thick and creamy and I have to make a conscious effort to stop myself from scooping out more product than is necessary. I just can’t keep my paws off it. A little does go a long way though, and this butter is such a hard worker. It does go on a little stickier than the body emulsion at first, but it feels a lot richer. After a couple of minutes though, it gets completely absorbed in my skin and I end up feeling all smooth and velvety. It’s such a delight, and I feel like I’m totally spoiling myself. I can’t even believe that the full sized jar costs $10; it is such heaven for the skin that I feel like I should be paying more for this. I do prefer the body emulsion for trustworthy moisturizing on the go, but this is definitely something which I would want to recommend to the entire universe.

Pumpkin Butters in the General Collection cost $4.50 for a 2oz jar and $10 for a 6oz jar. Seasonal Pumpkin Butters cost $5 for a 2oz jar and $10 for a 6oz jar.

Lip Balm

in Oregon Blueberries

Ingredients: Virgin cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, candelilla (euphorbia cerifera) wax, punica granatum linn (pomegranate) oil, caprylic/capric/stearic glycerides, cymbidium grandiflorum (orchid) flower extract, flavor oil, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, tocopherol (vitamin E).

I was an hour late getting into the release, and the only lip balm I could get was this pretty little critter. These lip balms are insanely popular, and after trying this, I completely understand why. You can tell that it was created by a company that is really skilled in the art of perfume making because even the flavor oil used in their lip balms smells so gorgeous. I’ve never been to Oregon, but I want to make a trip there just for their blueberries. This smells all sweet and juicy and it takes all my will power to not attempt to lick it up. It’s like perfume for the lips, and I love it.

This is a pretty solid balm, but it melts into a delightful creaminess upon contact with my lips. I’d consider this to be a great balance between waxy and oily, and it leaves a nice, natural sheen on my lips. One swipe is enough to make my lips feel like they’re being really pampered and it’s just so comfortable to wear. It goes on a little thick though, so I think I might prefer a thinner balm for wearing under a lippie. Still, this does wonders to soften my dry and chapped lips. Judging from the number of kisses he’s stolen while I’m wearing this, the Fox definitely approves! And this is a guy who basically banned all lip products whenever we’re together because he dislikes “second hand lip stuff”, so I’d consider this a huge thumbs up.

I will be reviewing Cozy Sweater together with my other Haus of Gloi perfume oils that I got from a previous purchase in another post for the sake of consolidation.

This was a beautiful, beautiful haul and I am definitely going to be a customer for life. I’m already looking forward to the Fall Release, if that’s any indication of my addiction. As it is, I’m waiting for Summer Release Part 2 with bated breath. If you haven’t given Haus of Gloi a try yet, I’d definitely recommend this darling e-tailer a hundred times over. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

