Death Match! – Candy Scents [ Part 1 ]


As part of my quest to find the ultimate candy blend, I’ve taken to hoarding any perfume that has notes of sugar or honey in it. I’ve acquired quite the nest of goodies which would probably be diabetic suicide when all put together. However, they’ve been sitting pretty for too long and I think the sniffies have grown complacent. It’s time to pit the perfumes against each other in a Death Match! I will be doing mini reviews of each of the participating perfume oils and will give them a personal score. /rubs paws with glee.

Oils will be rated by moi based on their:

  • Scent (how much I like the cacophony of fragrance notes)
  • Silage (how much throw the perfume has)
  • Longevity (how long the scent lasts on my skin)
  • Price (how much per 1ml)
  • Attainability (how easy it is to repurchase)

(Reviews are based on my own opinion and scent preferences, so do bear in mind that your mileage will vary.)

My stinky contestants for this round of the Death Match are:

  1. Candy Phoenix (BPAL)
    A dusky, yet effervescent mix of pomegranate and black currant candies, with a dusting of sugared pear and white apple.
  2. Sticky Pillowcase (BPAL)
    Smushed candy corn, rock candy dust, marshmallow gunk, strawberry goo, spun blue sugar, globs of salt water taffy, and lint.
  3. Uncle Brian (BPAL)
    Raspberry sherbet dotted with orangesicle, merlot gelato, pink cotton candy, and iced lime.
  4. Blue Lollipops (BPAL)
    Blueberry-swirled blue lollipops!
  5. Velvet Unicorn (BPAL)
    Spun sugar, sparkling rainbow candies, strawberries, merangue, and cherry fluff.
  6. The Glitter Horse (Blooddrop Perfumes)
    vanilla fruit candy, a touch of mint leaf and old-fashioned stick rock sugar candy.
  7. Whinnies No. 2 (Blooddrop Perfumes)
    Marshmallow with vanilla mango sorbet, dusted with nutmeg.
  8. Candy is Dandy (Brazen Cosmetics)
    Swirls of vanilla & spun sugar delicately balance atop sticky sweet berries.  

To make things fair, this round is filled with candy blends with a distinct note of sugary fruits in them. The cake and vanilla candy blends will have their own match in the future.

Contestant 1 – Candy Phoenix 
A dusky, yet effervescent mix of pomegranate and black currant candies, with a dusting of sugared pear and white apple.

  • Scent
    This has always been one of my favorite candy blends and it starts off all sparkly and sweet. It’s a psychedelic rainbow of blackcurrant candy and sugared pear that is magically sweet without being too cloying. These are the two prime notes that I can pick out and the blend mostly remains constant throughout the day, ie, this isn’t much of a morpher.
  • Silage
    On a scale of 1 – 10, Candy Phoenix has an average throw (7), meaning that the waiter taking my order may smell it, but not the people at the opposite table. It’s one of those swirly blends that dances constantly around you and I can pretty much smell it throughout the day.
  • Longevity
    On a scale of 1 – 10, Candy Phoenix managed to last for 6 hours on me (9). It did wear itself closer to the skin during the last two hours, but by some kind of sorcery, it still managed to sparkle. Impressive for a silly little candy blend!
  • Price
    I got my decant off the BPAL marketplace and paid $3.50 for my 1ml sample. This scent is no longer available on the official BPAL site, so the price may vary depending on the individual seller.
  • Attainability
    Being a limited edition anniversary blend, the only way to purchase this oil is to buy it second hand. Since there was only one release of Candy Phoenix, it’s considerably rare although it does appear pretty often in either a decant or full bottle. While it requires some effort to find, it’s still pretty manageable!

Contestant 2 – Sticky Pillowcase 
Smushed candy corn, rock candy dust, marshmallow gunk, strawberry goo, spun blue sugar, globs of salt water taffy, and lint.

  • Scent
    Many people who have tried both Sticky Pillowcase and Candy Phoenix have pointed out that there is a distinct similarity between the two. I definitely get a similar fizziness from Sticky, although I think there’s more of a mish mash of candy sweetness rather than a more distinct fruitiness. The lint note also adds a dry and slightly sharp edge to the blend which keeps it grounded and makes it just a little more interesting. The lint note does mellow over time, but so does the candied brightness to the point where it almost gets snuggly – like a pillowcase!
  • Silage
    On a scale of 1 – 10, Sticky has an average throw (7 – 8); my dad commented on the sweetness as soon as I entered the room (thankfully he liked it!).
  • Longevity
    On a scale of 1 – 10, Sticky Pillowcase lasted for 5 to 6 hours (8) on me. It got pretty faint towards the end, which is why I’m docking off 1 point compared to Candy Phoenix. 
  • Price
    I bought a 5ml bottle of this off the BPAL Marketplace for $18.50, which puts it at approximately $3.70 per 1ml.
  • Attainability
    Being a Limited Edition blend that was only released during Halloween 2008, it requires more effort to track it down. At the time of posting, there was only 1 blend listed at $19. However, I believe a WTB post should be able to lure out some decants or full bottles, so finding it is still manageable.

Contestant 3 – Uncle Brian
Raspberry sherbet dotted with orangesicle, merlot gelato, pink cotton candy, and iced lime.

  • Scent
    The orange is strong in this one! I’ve found this to be the most tropical candy blend that I’ve tested so far. This is a citrusy gummy on me and it exudes this cheerful summery vacation vibe. It reminds me the most of a sugary mocktail, perhaps something like a Shirley Temple. I’m not that fond of citrus scents since regardless of how skilfully blended they are, my darn nose tends to associate them to dish washing liquids so this one is probably destined for swaps or goodwill should I decide to cull the collection. I wish raspberry or grape was the dominant note on me. Still, this is pretty fun, especially for the summer!
  • Silage
    On a scale of 1 – 10, this one ranks at about a 5. It’s pretty strong at the beginning but it quickly settles down and wears closer to the skin.
  • Longevity
    On a scale of 1 – 10, Uncle Brian lingered for about 4 hours on my skin (okay, that sounds so wrong), so that’s a 6.
  • Price
    I paid $4 for my 1ml decant.
  • Attainability
    It was part of a special one-off limited event in 2012 and as a result, there aren’t many bottles out of this blend out there. I have yet to see a full sized bottle being sold on the second hand market, but then again, I haven’t had the motivation to hunt it down. Still, this is pretty darn rare and for me, it’s not worth the effort to hunt down again.

Contestant 4 – Blue Lollipops
Blueberry-swirled blue lollipops!

  • Scent
    This is as one-note as a candy blend can get on me. On my skin, this is the purest, most delectable old-school blueberry lollipop. It’s innocently sweet and brings me back to my childhood days of lollipop crunching on a see-saw. This doesn’t have the fizziness of Candy Phoenix and Sticky Pillowcase; it’s a very simple blend, but oh, how I adore it. This goes beyond perfume, this is a lollipop in liquid form, minus the stickiness.
  • Silage
    On a scale of 1 to 10, this one is about a 3 – 4. This darling little blend is shy and wears itself very close to the skin. I found myself huffing my wrists a lot while wearing it which made me look very silly.
  • Longevity
    On a scale of 1 to 10, this one is a 3. Sadly, Blue Lollipops faded away after about 2 and a half hours. There is this soft lingering sweetness on your skin around the 3 hour mark, but this does require more reapplication than the other blends so far.
  • Price
    I paid $3.75 for my 1ml decant.
  • Attainability
    This was a 2013 limited edition blend from Lilith’s (daughter of BPAL’s owner, Beth) Birthday Collection. Since this is still pretty recent, it’s easier to track down at the moment. I’ve seen full bottles listed at the BPAL Marketplace a couple of times.

Contestant 5 – Velvet Unicorn
Spun sugar, sparkling rainbow candies, strawberries, merangue, and cherry fluff.

  • Scent
    This blend is the biggest morpher of the lot. At the beginning, it’s this delicious creamy mix of spun sugar with just a kiss of strawberry pinkness. After about an hour, it miraculously morphs into something more fizzy and mixed fruity which I think is the sparkling rainbow candies pushing their way through. At the very end, it actually becomes quite reminiscent of Candy Phoenix so that’s a lovely little ending to this silly and very interesting little blend.
  • Silage
    On a scale of 1 – 10, this is about a 4 to 5.
  • Longevity
    On a scale of 1 – 10, this lasted for 6 hours of me (9).
  • Price
    I paid $5 for my 1ml decant. (The most expensive of my candy blends!)
  • Attainability
    This is a hideously rare and sought after blend. I love unicorns and I love candy, so I just *had* to try it once but I’ve never ever seen a full bottle for sale. I’ve seen some for swap, but their owners are usually seeking blends that are equally rare. Thankfully, I love other candy blends more to be content with my decant.

Contestant 6 – The Glitter Horse
vanilla fruit candy, a touch of mint leaf and old-fashioned stick rock sugar candy.

  • Scent
    This is the only candy blend I’ve sampled that has mint as a note and I LOVE it for that. In the past, I’ve always been somewhat wary of mint in a perfume, but this is so beautifully handled that I find myself wishing that every candy blend had mint in it. It complements the juicy, creamy fruit candy and adds a fresh edge which keeps the sweetness from being too one dimensional. Sticky Pillowcase has met its match with this one.
  • Silage
    On a scale of 1 – 10, this has a pretty higher than average throw (8).
  • Longevity
    On a scale of 1 – 10, this scored a 6 for lasting about 4 hours on me. I would probably have amp-ed this up to a great contender for my ultimate candy blend if only I didn’t have to reapply it so much.
  • Price
    This is currently available at Blooddrop at $15 for a 5ml bottle, which puts it at $3 for 1ml.
  • Attainability
    Since there’s still stock at Blooddrop, this is reasonably easy to attain at the moment. The only road block is the high international shipping fee ($25!), so I might have to resort to the second hand market if I was only looking to purchase 1 Blooddrop blend. Still, I feel pretty secure in knowing that it’s still available at the source… for now.

Contestant 7 – Whinnies No. 2
Marshmallow with vanilla mango sorbet, dusted with nutmeg.

  • Scent
    This is the least sugary of the blends in that I can’t detect a distinct sugar note. What I do get is this luscious and cream mango creamsicle which is both refreshing and decadently yummy at the same time. Like Uncle Brian, this is a more tropical blend that’s perfect for the summer, but I like this one more. While I’d describe most of the other candy blends as sparkling, this one is really more frothy. I really enjoy this.
  • Silage
    On a scale of 1 – 10, this one scores a respectable 7.
  • Longevity
    On a scale of 1 – 10, this lasted for about 4 hours which earned it a 6.
  • Price
    This is currently available at Blooddrop at $15 for a 5ml bottle, which puts it at $3 for 1ml. 
  • Attainability
    Like Glitter Horse, this one is still reasonably easy to attain apart from the high shipping fee. The Whinnies were created in a smaller quantity and are very popular, so I can foresee this one going out of stock on the site sooner. Still, this is a very recent blend so it should be easier to obtain.

Contestant 8 – Candy is Dandy
Swirls of vanilla & spun sugar delicately balance atop sticky sweet berries.  

  • Scent
    Despite the toothache-inducing description, this is actually the most tart of the blends that I’ve sampled thus far. Thankfully, the sharpness is mellowed by the creamy vanilla swirls. This is a really fizzy and effervescent blend and  I actually found myself enjoying this very much. Of course, I do love berries, so that might account for my partiality to this one.
  • Silage
    On a scale of 1 – 10, this one is about a 6 – 7. It does grow a lot more subtle after a couple of hours but lingers on the skin for quite a long time.
  • Longevity
    This lasted for about 2 to 3 hours on me which earns it a 4.
  • Price
    This is currently available at Brazen Cosmetics as part of their general collection of perfumes. This sells for $14.99 for a 10ml bottle which puts it at $1.49 per 1ml.
  • Attainability
    Finally, a candy blend I like that is part of the general collection! This is very easily obtainable and for that reason, I think I will be picking up a full bottle of this in the near future since my decant is almost gone.

And the verdict… 

My Overall Champion for this round is

Sticky Pillowcase

It has just enough depth to not be a generic sugary perfume, has awesome throw and longevity and despite the fact that it requires a little more effort to find, it’s more than worth the search. I’m still hoping that it will make a reappearance for one of BPAL’s future Halloween collections.

Honorable Mentions go to:

The Glitter Horse, Candy is Dandy & Blue Lollipops

These came so close to being my favorite blends of this round but they were all lacking in longevity and throw. Still, I absolutely would pick up full bottles of these if the opportunity ever rose.

Candy Phoenix

This would have been my favorite if I didn’t get my paws on Sticky Pillowcase. Since Sticky is slightly easier to acquire, I don’t need Candy Phoenix since the two are pretty darn similar to each other. If I ever ran out of Sticky and came across Candy, I’d absolutely get her though.

Thanks for sticking with me throughout my first Death Match post! I have some other candy blends in my collection and am currently on the prowl to discover more. If you have any recommendations for candy blends, please share them with me! I love being enabled.

Leave a Reply

